Hockey NB 56th AGM

June 8, 2024

FREDERICTON – Hockey New Brunswick held its 56th Annual General Meeting at the Delta Hotels by Mariott Fredericton, Fredericton NB
Hockey New Brunswick’s Annual Reportwas presented during the Annual General Meeting. The report contains information and statistics from the 2023-2024 season.
Several awards were awarded for last season:
The HNB award winners were as follows:
  • J. Charles Daigle Memorial Award           Kathy Ahern - Miramichi
J. Charles Daigle Award was established in 1976 in memory of the late Charles Daigle to recognize individuals at the executive level.  Their dedication to our sport and their ability to organize and administer have contributed greatly to the improvement of hockey in New Brunswick.
Video -
Vance Toner Hockey Development Award          Nancy Haslett - Rothesay
  • Vance Toner Hockey Development Award was established in 1995 to recognize an individual who has exemplified strong qualities as a teacher, coach, and administrator not only within their community, but throughout the province of New Brunswick.
Minor Hockey Association of the Year                Kennebecasis Valley Minor Hockey
  • District Association/Community Club of the Year Award was established in 1992 to recognize a minor hockey association who exemplified the true spirit of minor hockey during the past season and encouraged their members to participate under the Fair Play Values.
HNB Volunteer of the Year                                  Jeremy Nash - Moncton
  • Volunteer of the Year Award was established in 1995 to recognize an active volunteer in the hockey community.
    Video -
 HNB Female Hockey Breakthrough                    Chris Sorensen - Bedell
  • Established in 2004 to be presented annually to an individual who has assisted in the promotion of Female Hockey within the province.
HNB U7 Award                                        Lachlan MacIntosh – Tobique Narrows
  • Established in 2016 to recognize an active volunteer or Minor Hockey Association who has actively participated in the promotion and enhancement of the Hockey Canada Initiation Program within their community. Each Region of HNB is entitled to submit one nomination per year.
Career Achievement Award                     Mark Cloutier – St. Leonard
  • The Hockey New Brunswick Career Achievement Award was established in 2016 to honor those individuals who, for many years, have served amateur hockey faithfully, having participated as a player, coach, official, or administrator and have made an outstanding contribution to Hockey New Brunswick.
HNB Academics Scholarship in memory of Ron Bradbury      Madeline McAuliffe – Rothesay HS
  • Ron Bradbury Memorial Scholarship was established in 2002 to recognize the outstanding contribution of Ron Bradbury to the sport of hockey.  This award is being presented to high school hockey player who demonstrates hockey skill, high academic standing with an emphasis on English and who is involved in the school or community.
Jim Stirling Scholarship Award    Chase Lynds – Bonar Law High School
  • B.F. Lorenzetti and Associates Inc. are the insurance brokers for the Canadian Hockey Association.  In 1996, B.F. Lorenzetti began sponsoring a program for the CHA, which allows every Branch to present a bursary to a deserving hockey player.
Delta/Fortis Properties Scholarship      Brynn Silliker – Miramichi Valley High School
  • Delta/Fortis Properties Scholarship was established in 2003 to recognize a Grade 12 student who has had hockey play a positive role in their life. The applicant must be of high academic standing and must give of their time to the community.
Tracy Arsenault Memorial Scholarship      Hilary Stiles – Woodstock High School
  • The Tracy Arsenault Memorial Women’s Hockey Scholarship is a privately funded scholarship and was established in her memory by her widowed husband, based on a proposal made by Tracy prior to her passing.

ACME Hockey Canada Officiating Program Award Winners for NBHOA

  • Most Improved - Wyatt Dunham (Zone 6)
  • Most Dedicated - Peter Jones (Zone 4)
  • Most Promising - Alex Duffy (Zone 5)    

NBHOA Scholarship Winners

  • Paul O’Blenis Memorial Scholarship - Ryan Anglehart (Zone 5)
  • Scott McKay Memorial Scholarship - Khloe Hamilton (Zone 6)
  • Sonny McLellan Memorial Scholarship - Christophe Adams (Zone 8)
  • Jean Marie Albert Scholarship - Samuel Basque (Zone 9)
In other business, elections were held for the following position.
HNB Minor Council Chair – Luc Martin was re-elected as chairman.
HNB President – Todd Pye was re-elected
Plans were announced for the 2025 AGM, which will be held in Saint John.