HNB 49th AGM



June 11, 2017

FREDERICTON – Hockey New Brunswick held its 49th AGM this past weekend in Tracadie.

A number of awards were presented on Saturday including:

The HNB award winners were as follows:

J. Charles Daigle Award was established in 1976 in memory of the late Charles Daigle to recognize individuals at the executive level. Their dedication to our sport and their ability to organize and administer have contributed greatly to the improvement of hockey in New Brunswick.

  • Vance Toner Hockey Development AwardRon Arbeau, Bath NB

Vance Toner Hockey Development Award was established in 1995 to recognize an individual who has exemplified strong qualities as a teacher, coach and administrator not only within their community, but throughout the province of New Brunswick.

  • Minor Hockey Association of the YearSussex Minor Hockey

District Association/Community Club of the Year Award was established in 1992 to recognize a minor hockey association who exemplified the true spirit of minor hockey during the past season and encouraged their members to participate under the Fair Play Values.

  • HNB Volunteer of the YearBob Keayes, Saint John

Volunteer of the Year Award was established in 1995 to recognize an active volunteer in the hockey community.

  • HNB Female Hockey BreakthroughDarren Gallen, Riverview NB

Established in 2004to be presented annually to an individual who has assisted in the promotion of Female Hockey within the province

HNB CAREER ACHIEVEMENT AWARD      Claude Arseneault, Campbellton NB

Established in 2016 to honour those individuals who, for many years, have served amateur hockey faithfully, having participated as a player, coach, or administrator and have made an outstanding contribution to Hockey New Brunswick.

  • HNB Initiation AwardRestigouche North Minor Hockey

Established in 2016 to recognize an active volunteer or Minor Hockey Association who has actively participated in the promotion and enhancement of the Hockey Canada Initiation Program within their community. Each Region of HNB is entitled to submit one nomination per year.

  • HNB Academics Scholarship in memory of Ron Bradbury Jocelyn Russell, Miramichi

Ron Bradbury Memorial Scholarship was established in 2002 to recognize the outstanding contribution of Ron Bradbury to the sport of hockey. This award is being presented to high school hockey player who demonstrates hockey skill, high academic standing with an emphasis on English and who is involved in the school or community.

  • Jim Stirling Scholarship Award                      Justin Lacenaire, Dieppe Memramcook

B.F. Lorenzetti and Associates Inc. are the insurance brokers for the Canadian Hockey Association. In 1996, B.F. Lorenzetti began sponsoring a program for the CHA, which allows every Branch to present a bursary to a deserving hockey player.

  • Delta/Fortis Properties Scholarship                 Brad Green, Riverview

Delta/Fortis Properties Scholarship was established in 2003 to recognize a Grade 12 student who has had hockey play a positive role in their life. The applicant must be of high academic standing and must give of their time to the community.

In other business, elections were held for the following position.

Senior Chair – Phil Huckins re-elected as chair.

Plans were announced for the 2018 AGM, which will be held in Moncton.

Outreach Productions