47th Annual HNB AGM

FREDERICTON – Hockey New Brunswick held its 47th AGM this past weekend at the Delta Fredericton.

A number of awards were presented throughout the evening including the following:

The HNB award winners were as follows:

J. Charles Daigle Award was established in 1976 in memory of the late Charles Daigle to recognize individuals at the executive level. Their dedication to our sport and their ability to organize and administer have contributed greatly to the improvement of hockey in New Brunswick.

  • Vance Toner Hockey Development AwardMaurice Arseneault, Rothesay

Vance Toner Hockey Development Award was established in 1995 to recognize an individual who has exemplified strong qualities as a teacher, coach and administrator not only within their community, but throughout the province of New Brunswick.

  • Minor Hockey Association of the YearGrand Falls Minor Hockey

District Association/Community Club of the Year Award was established in 1992 to recognize a minor hockey association who exemplified the true spirit of minor hockey during the past season and encouraged their members to participate under the Fair Play Values.

  • HNB Volunteer of the Year                            The late Dwain Barton, Minto

Volunteer of the Year Award was established in 1995 to recognize an active volunteer in the hockey community.

  • HNB Female Hockey Breakthrough               Christine Dupuis, Notre Dame

             Established in 2004to be presented annually to an individual who has assisted in the promotion of Female Hockey within the   province

  • Ron Bradbury Memorial ScholarshipAndrea Dinan, Miramichi

Ron Bradbury Memorial Scholarship was established in 2002 to recognize the outstanding contribution of Ron Bradbury to the sport of hockey. This award is being presented to high school hockey player who demonstrates hockey skill, high academic standing with an emphasis on English and who is involved in the school or community.

  • Jim Stirling Scholarship Award                                  Tyler Gunn, Saint John

B.F. Lorenzetti and Associates Inc. are the insurance brokers for the Canadian Hockey Association. In 1996, B.F. Lorenzetti began sponsoring a program for the CHA, which allows every Branch to present a bursary to a deserving hockey player.

  • Delta/Fortis Properties Scholarship               Natalie Sharp, Wards Creek

             Delta/Fortis Properties Scholarship was established in 2003 to recognize a Grade 12 student who has had hockey play a        positive role in their life. The applicant must be of high academic standing and must give of their time to the community.

*   Life Member                                                         Tom Donovan, Saint John

     Life membership is the highest honour that can be bestowed by HNB and is to be awarded only for very distinctive services to HNB

The NBHOA honoured Andre Lebel, Sonny McLellan, the late Paul Rollins, Glenn Hurley, Yvan Arseneault, Ken Somers and Paul O’Blenis for years of service.

In other business, elections were held for the following position.

Senior Chair – Phil Huckins re-elected as chair.

Plans were announced for the 2016 AGM, which will be held in Edmundston.

Outreach Productions