QMJHL Gatorade Excellence Challenge


Fredericton, NB - The Hockey New Brunswick Male Under-16 team will begin it's quest for gold next week at the QMJHL Gatorade Excellence Challenge.  The 2nd Annual event will take place at the Centre d'excellence Sports Rousseau in Boisbriand, Quebec; and will feature the provincial teams from each of the Atlantic provinces (New Brunswick, Newfoundland & Labrador, PEI & Nova Scotia), as well as two teams from Quebec.

On Monday April 28th New Brunswick will be hosting an exhibition game against a group of local Midget and Junior players.  The game will be played at the Aitken Centre in Fredericton at 7:00 p.m.  On Tuesday the team will depart for Quebec, Wednesday will be the Under Armour Combine (off-ice & on-ice testing), then the tournament games will begin on Thursday.

New Brunswick's first game will be at 11:00 a.m against Newfoundland and Labrador, they also play at 5:30 p.m on Thursday versus Quebec White.  On Friday New Brunswick will play Quebec Blue at 1:30 p.m.; then they’ll face off against PEI on Saturday at 8:00 p.m.  At the conclusion of the preliminary round, New Brunswick will play in the Gold, Bronze or 5th place game on Sunday.

The coaching staff has also announced the Captains & Assistant Captains:

Captain – Taylor LeBlanc

Assistant Captain’s – Elijah Francis, Sam King, Felix LeBlanc

“This leadership group demonstrated at our summer evaluation camp, the qualities and characteristics necessary to earn the privilege of wearing a letter for our team at the QMJHL Gatorade Excellence Challenge,” commented Head Coach Kevin Pottle. “We, as a staff, have full confidence in these individuals to lead our group as they compete against the best players in Atlantic Canada and Quebec.”

Game summaries will be available on the QMJHL website – www.theqmjhl.ca

New Brunswick's roster is below:


1 – Ryan Hale – Fredericton Canadiens

31 – Tanner Somers – Miramichi Rivermen


2 – Kyle Anderson – Saint John Warriors

3 – Elijah Francis – Notre Dame Argos

4 - Pierre–Luc Lurette – Miramichi Rivermen

5 – Isaac McGraw – Saint John Vitos

6 – Jarrod Shipley – Saint John Vitos 

7 – Marcus Tesink – Saint John Vitos 


8 – Ben Corey – Fredericton Canadiens

9 – Will Drummond – Saint John Vitos

10 – Christian Gregan – Moncton Flyers

11 – Sam Jeffrey – Fredericton Canadiens

12 – Logan Johnston – Fredericton Canadiens

14 – Ryan Kenny – Miramichi Rivermen

15 – Sam King – Saint John Vitos

16 – Will Lafford – Kent’s Hill

17 – Felix LeBlanc – Moncton Flyers

18 – Taylor LeBlanc – Fredericton Canadiens

19 – Yan Plourde – Miramichi Rivermen

20 – Roch Theriault – Miramichi Rivermen

Head Coach – Kevin Pottle

Asst. Coach – David O'Leary

Asst. Coach – Mike O'Pray

Goalie Coach – Joel Gauthier

Equipment Manager – Jordan Rinehart

Therapist – Curtis McIntyre

Director of Operations – Nic Jansen

For further information contact:

Nic Jansen

This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.

Twitter Updates - @HockeyNB

Outreach Productions